The Lost Boys by Lilian Carmine

cover39794-medium

 

Synopsis:

An intensely addictive romance novel about girls, ghosts, and forbidden love, ideal for fans of Stephenie Meyer  Fate has brought them together. But will it also keep them apart? Having moved to a strange town, 17-year-old Joey Gray is feeling a little lost, until she meets a cute, mysterious boy near her new home. But there’s a very good reason why Tristan Halloway is always to be found roaming in the local graveyard. Perfect for fans of Stephenie Meyer and Lauren Kate, The Lost Boys is a magical, romantic tale of girl meets ghost.

 

 

 My Review:

First I have to say that after reading the synopsis for the The Lost Boys and even in it’s beginning stages I was really excited for this book. After reading the first 15/20% I just knew it was going to be amazing, possibly end up on the favorite shelf. Yeah.. not going to happen. I got the exact opposite reaction of what I was expecting.

Joe Gray moves to a new town with her mother and then one day she decides to take a walk in her new town, long story short she ends up in a graveyard where she meets a boy whom she has no idea is actually a ghost. They become friends and then somehow Joe ends being able to do a spell that brings him back to life without even realizing or knowing how she done so. Anyway it’s a basic tale of girl meets boy, boy meets girl… blah, blah, blah.

I guess I was under the impression of this book being more on the fantasical side when really the only thing you actually read in the book that is fantasy/paranormal/magic is at the beginning and more towards the end. The middle is just fluffed up with a whole bunch of high school drama… well suppose to be high school. Sometimes the way these kids acted and talked throughout the book actually caused me to be embarrassed for them! Yes, in my head I was going Oh my god, did they really just say/do that. If there had not been a little bit of cursing and a few sexual scenes I would definitely say this book was middle school.

I will admit that there was one instance in which there were a tear or two brought to my eyes but that was it. Needless to say I wanted so much more from this book. I guess I just had my expectations set to high from all the wonderful reviews I read about it beforehand. I have no idea where all the praise comes from. I feel like I read an entirely different book!

Leave a Reply

