**Cover Reveal** DeadGirl by B.C. Johnson

Curiosity Quills is excited to reveal the cover for urban-fantasy, paranormal-romance DeadGirl, by B.C. Johnson, which is scheduled for release November 6, 2014. The fantastic cover was designed by Andy Garcia.

Deadgirl, by BC Johnson - coverAbout DeadGirl:

Dead is such a strong word …

Lucy Day, 15 years old, is murdered on her very first date. Not one to take that kind of thing lying down, she awakens a day later with a seemingly human body and more than a little confusion. Lucy tries to return to her normal life, but the afterlife keeps getting in the way.

Zack, her crush-maybe-boyfriend, isn’t exactly excited that she ditched him on their first date.

Oh, and Abraham, Lucy’s personal Grim Reaper, begins hunting her, dead-set on righting the error that dropped her back into the spongy flesh of a living girl. Lucy must put her mangled life back together, escape re-death, and learn to control her burgeoning powers while staying one step ahead of Abraham.

But when she learns the devastating price of coming back from the dead, Lucy is forced to make the hardest decision of her re-life — can she really sacrifice her loved ones to stay out of the grave?

Add DeadGirl to your Goodreads ‘to-be-read’ list.

B. C. Johnson - bio picAbout by B.C. Johnson:

Born in Southern California, B.C. Johnson has been writing since he realized it was one of the few socially acceptable ways to tell people a bunch of stuff you just made up off the top of your head. He attended Savanna High School in Anaheim, and an undisclosed amount of college before deciding that weird odd jobs were a far greater career path.

This lead him to such exciting professions as: aluminum recovery machinist, lighting designer, construction demo, sound mixer, receptionist, theater stage hand, wedding security, high school custodian, museum events manager, webmaster, IT guy, copywriter, and one memorable night as the bouncer at a nightclub. He is trying very hard to add “vampire hunter” and “spaceship captain” to that list.

He currently lives in Garden Grove with his supernal wife Gina, his half-corgi, half-muppet dog Luna, and his new half-grayhound, half-living-tornado-of-destruction Kaylee. He also spends time with his two brothers, his parents, and his close friends, whose primary pursuit are usually healthy debates about movie minutiea. When he’s not working or writing, he’s been to known to pursue all conceivable geeky avenues of interest including but not limited to video games, the sort of TV shows/movies Benedict Cumberbatch might star in, graphic novels, podcasts, funny gifs, the whole thing.

He’s also been known to apply his special brand of hyperbole and mania to pop-culture humor essays for various websites that can be found on his homepage, bc-johnson.com. B.C. also has a high school noir short story called “The Lancer” available on Kindle.

Deadgirl is his first novel.

Find by B.C. Johnson Online:

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

Some Boys by Patty Blount *Blog Blitz*

 

SomeBoys_TourBadge

 

YA author, Patty Blount, is back with another novel that addresses one of today’s most pressing issues facing today’s youth. SOME BOYS is a gutwrenching and edgy love story told from alternating points of view that’s perfect for fans of Simone Elkeles and Katie McGarry.
“SOME BOYS belongs in every YA collection.” – School Library Journal
“5 stars. Very well-deserved! This book did quite a number on me – unlike most books (contemporary or not), this one made me FEEL, and feel really strongly.” – The Eater of Books

Want to get to know Patty better? Check out this exclusive interview!
Rafflecopter code:
Enter to WIN a $10 gift card for Amazon or Barnes & Noble + all 3 of Patty’s books & SWAG including a SEND wristband, a TMI magnet and a Some Boys safety whistle!
Embed Rafflecopter code:
a Rafflecopter giveaway

About SOME BOYS:
Some Boys go too far. Some Boys will break your heart. But One Boy can make you whole.
Seventeen-year-old lacrosse player Ian Russell—sidelined by a concussion—is sentenced to spend spring break scrubbing out lockers. It’s bad enough when Ian discovers his partner for the week is Grace Collier, the girl who claims his best friend raped her at a party in the woods a few weeks ago. But what sucks most of all is that he used to have a thing for Grace… before Zac MacMahon got to her first.
Grace wants to crawl into one of the lockers and die. Ian was the only reason Grace even bothered to go that stupid party, but he never showed up. Not until… after. Suddenly, someone was shaking her awake. The last thing she remembers is the expression on Zac’s face. But Zac told the entire school the sex was consensual and posted a video on Facebook to prove it. Her best friends have abandoned her and even her parents aren’t too sure.
But Ian and Grace surprise each other. He never disrespects her, and she even helps him when a dizzy spell hits. Ian still likes Grace with her bad-ass style. Unlike the rest of the school, who has rejected Grace, calling her a slut and a liar, Ian is funny and kind with secrets of his own. But how do you trust the best friend of the boy who raped you? How do you challenge your best friend and call him a liar? How do you believe in love?
Goodreads Amazon Barnes & Noble Kobo

*Excerpt*
First Kiss

He tugs me closer. “How are you gonna hurt me when I’ve got your hands trapped?”
I go completely still. Ian Russell is holding my hands. Ian Russell is holding my hands. And there’s no pressure in my chest, and I haven’t warped back in time to the moment when I knew I couldn’t stop Zac from taking what he wanted from me. Jesus, a boy is touching me, and it’s kind of okay. And for maybe the first time in forty days, I laugh.
“What’s so funny?” He looks at me sideways.
“Glad you asked.” I grin. Since he’s on the floor and I’m not, all it takes is a simple shift of my weight, and a second later I’ve broken out of his hold and have him pinned.
“Impressive. Ow. Very impressive. Ow. I’ll applaud once you let me go.”
“Stop crying.”
“I will when you let me go.”
I should probably let him go.
But I don’t.
My heart’s racing from the power trip of taking Ian down, or maybe it’s just because I’m so close to him and thought this was over for me. His muscles go lax. He stops struggling, and I don’t let go. I want to freeze this moment and keep it—keep him—forever. Slowly he leans in closer and closer, and I still don’t let go. His eyes drop to my mouth, and his tongue darts out to lick his lips. I think he wants to kiss me, and damn it, I want him to—I want him to so badly I almost cry, so I don’t let go. Closer, closer, and his eyes shut, and his head tilts. And I don’t let go. His lips touch mine, and he kisses me like it matters—like I matter—and oh, my God, it’s amazing. He’s amazing, and I don’t let go. And then the steel door on the floor below us screeches open, and Ian goes tense, his eyes darting to the stairs at the far end of the hall. And it hits me.
Ian doesn’t want anyone to see him with the school slut.
So I break our No Zac agreement. “You wanna know why I didn’t fight off Zac? Because I was unconscious.”
Ian’s eyes snap to mine and then away, but it’s too late. I already saw the disgust in them.
This is when I let him go.

Patty Blount Pic 2Also by Patty Blount: TMI and SEND!*

About Patty Blount:
In addition to writing novels for teens, Patty Blount writes technical information for a computer company. Her first novel, Send, was inspired after a manager suggested she learn more about social networks. A short version of that same novel finished in the top ten of the Writer’s Digest 79th Annual Writing Competition. She is also the author of the young adult book, TMI. She lives on Long Island with her family. Visit her at pattyblount.com.
Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Pinterest