The Forgetting by Nicole Maggi, Spotlight with Excerpt

cover53610-mediumThe Forgetting by Nicole Maggi

February 3, 2015; ISBN: 9781492603566; $9.99; Trade Paper

Sourcebooks Fire– Young Adult Fiction, Mysteries & Detective Stories

Ages 14-17, Grades 8-12

 

Georgie’s new heart saved her life…but now she’s losing her mind.

 

When Georgie Kendrick wakes up after a heart transplant she feels…different. The organ beating in her chest isn’t in tune with the rest of her body. Like it still belongs to someone else.  Someone with terrible memories…memories that are slowly replacing her own. Georgie discovers her heart belonged to a teenage girl who lived a rough life on the streets. Everyone thinks she committed suicide, but only Georgie knows the truth. And now Georgie has to catch a killer–before she loses herself completely. 

 

Fans of Lisa McMann and April Henry will devour this edgy, gripping thriller with a twist readers won’t see coming!

 

Nicole Maggi wrote her first story in third grade about a rainbow and a unicorn. After working as an actress in NYC, she now lives in Los Angeles with her family and two oddball cats. Visit her at nicolemaggi.com.

 

An Excerpt

I jerked awake after what felt like only a minute.  Darkness cloaked every inch of the room.  I sat up.  Panic snaked through me.  This wasn’t my room.  This room smelled sweet and clean and moonlight spilled in through a window.  I had never slept in a room with a window.

I never know what time it is in my room because no light squeezes in; even the door reaches all the way to the floor.  Dankness clings to the walls and I can’t breathe deep in here, not without getting a mouthful of mold.  The air is too close, like there’s not enough of it.  I grope for the flashlight I keep next to my bed so I won’t have to step onto the concrete floor to flip the switch by the door… 

But the flashlight wasn’t there.

Pain seized my chest.  My hand collided with the ornate lamp on the nightstand and I clicked it on.  A soft circle of light pooled on the wall.  I blinked.  I was in my own room, with its plush carpeted floors and large bay window and lamps on each side of the bed.  Why would I think I was in a room barely bigger than a closet, sleeping on a cot that was too small for me?  Where had that memory come from?  I closed my eyes and let the picture form.  Clear and vivid, I saw that room.  I knew every nook and cranny of that room.  But as far as I could remember, I had never been there.  How could I remember someplace I had never been?

The middle-of-the-night hush closed in on me and the only sound was The Catch, breathing in between my heartbeats like it was its own being.  I moved my hand in slow circles over my heart but there was no sweetness to be found.  In the stillness of the sleeping house, I let myself think the unthinkable.  The memory of that room didn’t belong to me, and neither did the memory of that strawberry shortcake.

Those memories belonged to the previous owner of my heart.

 

Buy Links:

Amazon: http://amzn.to/1vm3mhk

BAM: http://bit.ly/1vOLWMx

B&N: http://bit.ly/11UYOn5

Chapters: http://bit.ly/1FsP4wK

Indiebound: http://bit.ly/1zYBdNz

 

Advertisements

My Last Kiss by Bethany Neal

cover41529-medium

 

Synopsis:

What if your last kiss was with the wrong boy?

Cassidy Haines remembers her first kiss vividly. It was on the old covered bridge the summer before her freshman year with her boyfriend of three years, Ethan Keys. But her last kiss–the one she shared with someone at her seventeenth birthday party the night she died–is a blur. Cassidy is trapped in the living world, not only mourning the loss of her human body, but left with the grim suspicion that her untimely death wasn’t a suicide as everyone assumes. She can’t remember anything from the weeks leading up to her birthday and she’s worried that she may have betrayed her boyfriend.

If Cassidy is to uncover the truth about that fateful night and make amends with the only boy she’ll ever love, she must face her past and all the decisions she made–good and bad–that led to her last kiss.

Bethany Neal’s suspenseful debut novel is about the power of first love and the haunting lies that threaten to tear it apart.

 

Review:

This book is about a girl, Cassidy, that dies right after her birthday. She knows that she is dead but she has no real recollection of what happened to her. She enlists the help of her boyfriend Ethan to help her because for some crazy comsic reason he can see her but he is the only one that can.

When Cassidy is not with Ethan she is slipping off into recent memories to relive the past trying to remember what happened in the few weeks leading up to her death or she is with her two best friends Aimeé and Madison while they also work to find clues about what really happened the night of her birthday party.

This book is a young adult mystery/suspense and it is very addictive. I found myself glued to this book.. pretty much from the first page. I didn’t want to put it down because I just had to know what really happened to the MC. I kept coming up with all these different scenarios because of all the different clues getting thrown my way. Almost everyone is a suspect at some point and there are so many secrets that you have no idea who to trust.

I think the author done a fantastic job because honestly I didn’t peg the truth until it was put right in my face, which is always a positive thing with a GOOD mystery!

4 STARS